Charles Boot bought Heatherden Hall at auction on the 25th of September 1934 and proceeded to establish Pinewood Studios in partnership with J. Arthur Rank.
Construction began on the studios in early June 1935 when existing buildings around Heatherden Hall started to be demolished, and Pinewood was officially opened the following year on the 30th of September 1936.
In attendance at the opening was the director Carol Reed, who would later go on to direct the British film noir classic “The Third Man“, along with the stars of the first film to be completely made at Pinewood Studios. Directed by Carol Reed and starring Sally Eilers & Ricardo Cortez, “Talk of the Devil was released later that year and included the actress Margaret Rutherford among the cast.
Pinewood Pop Art
Available in A4, A3, and A2 sizes to fit standard-size picture frames. Please note that black frame is not included – for a guide on choosing a frame size take a look here.
Part of the Studios collection of stylish pop art prints inspired by iconic film & TV studios, featuring Art & Hue’s signature halftone style (halftone is an age-old technique that uses dots to make up the printed image, similar to newspapers or comic books).
Copyright © Art & Hue® 2020. All rights reserved.